webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Economic Geography Aspects of the Panama Canal [Stephan Maurer, University of Konstanz]
Stephan Maurer and his coauthor studied how the opening of the Panama Canal in 1914 had changed market access and influenced the economic geography of the United States. They computed shipment cost-distances with and without the canal from each US county to each other US county and to international ports and computed the resulting change in market access. They found that a 1 percent increase in market access led to a total increase of population by around 4.5 percent in 1940. They computed similar elasticities for wages, land values and immigration from out of state. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Stephan will describe how they calculated their cost-distance matrix and explain their findings that tradable (manufacturing) industries react faster than non-tradable (service) industries.

Live on Zoom on Tuesday, September 29, 2020
09:00 London | 10:00 Konstanz | 16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

Speaker:
Stephan Maurer
Assistant Professor
Department of Economics
University of Konstanz

Sep 29, 2020 04:00 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.