webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Inflation and Investors’ Behavior: Evidence from the German Hyperinflation [Fabio Braggion, Tilburg School of Economics and Management]
Live on Zoom on November 19, 2020
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
17:00 Tokyo | 19:00 Sydney
08:00 London | 09:00 Tilburg

Inflation risk represents one of the most important economic risks faced by investors. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Fabio Braggion of Tilburg University will present his paper cowritten with Felix von Meyerinck (St. Gallen) and Nic Schaub (WHU), exploring how investors respond to inflation. Fabio and his coauthors introduce a unique dataset containing security portfolios of more than 2,000 clients of a German bank between 1920 and 1924, covering the famous German hyperinflation. In a within-person setting and controlling for the overall time trend, they find that investors buy less (sell more) stocks in times of rising local prices. This effect is more pronounced for less sophisticated investors. Their findings are consistent with investors being subject to money illusion.

*By registering to this webinar, you agree to receive free Quantitative History related materials, including event notices. You can also update your preferences at any time. Existing subscribers newsletter preferences will not be affected.

Nov 19, 2020 04:00 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.