webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series - Deep Learning Methods to Curate Economic Data at Scale [Melissa Dell, Andrew E. Furer Professor of Economics, Harvard University]
Live on Zoom on Thurs, June 16, 2022
09:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore | 10:00 Tokyo | 11:00 Sydney
18:00 Los Angeles | 21:00 Boston/New York on Wed, June 15

Vast amounts of data are trapped in non-computable formats, such as document image scans and text. Deep learning has the potential to greatly expand the questions that economists can study by providing rigorous methods for converting non-computable information into structured, computable data. Combined with advances in GPU compute and inexpensive cloud compute, this makes it feasible to process data on a massive scale.

In this Quantitative History Webinar, Melissa Dell (Harvard University) will provide an overview of her recent work to develop deep learning methods and tools for creating computable social science data, with an aim of making structured digital data more representative of documentary history. This work emphasizes lower resource contexts - for which there are few incentives for commercial technology – and encompasses novel approaches and tools for document layout analysis, OCR, and NLP pipelines.

*By registering to this webinar, you agree to receive free Quantitative History related materials, including event notices. You can also update your preferences at any time. Existing subscribers newsletter preferences will not be affected.

Jun 16, 2022 09:00 AM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.