webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series - The Rise of State Capacity in Europe, Asia and the Rest of the World since 1500 [Şevket Pamuk, Professor of Economics and Economic History, Bogaziçi University]
Live on Zoom on September 23, 2021
16:00 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
09:00 London | 11:00 Istanbul | 17:00 Tokyo | 18:00 Sydney

State capacity has emerged as a key concept in the literature on development economics and political economy. Economic historians have also been providing important insights into the relationship between the rise of modern states and economic growth in the long run.

In this Quantitative History Webinar, Şevket Pamuk of Boğaziçi (Bosphorus) University will review the rise of state capacity (and the Tax Revenues / GDP ratio) around the world since 1500 based on joint work with Kivanç Karaman. He will also explore the implications of the early rise of state capacity in Europe on Asia and the rest of the world since 1800. He will argue that while the European and the non-European paths may seem similar, state capacity was and continue to be built under very different circumstances in Europe and in the rest of the world.

*By registering to this webinar, you agree to receive free Quantitative History related materials, including event notices. You can also update your preferences at any time. Existing subscribers newsletter preferences will not be affected.

Sep 23, 2021 04:00 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.