webinar register page

Webinar banner
Quantitative History Webinar Series | The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World — and Globalization Began (Yale historian Valerie Hansen)
Live on Zoom on February 25, 2021
20:30 Hong Kong/Beijing/Singapore
07:30 New York | 12:30 London | 21:30 Tokyo | 23:30 Sydney

A new system of global pathways formed in the year 1000 AD following the Vikings’ arrival in northeastern Canada. Trade goods, people, and ideas moved along these newly discovered routes. The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World―and Globalization Began, written by Yale historian Valerie Hansen, tells the story of the most surprising journeys around the year 1000 took place when speakers of Malayic languages departed from the Malay peninsula and arrived on the island of Madagascar off the east coast of Africa some 4000 miles away. The shipping route from the port of Basra in the Middle East to Guangzhou, China via India and Southeast Asia was the longest maritime pathway in regular use before 1492. Stretching some 8000 miles long, it was nearly twice as long as the distance Columbus covered (4400 miles) when he crossed the Atlantic. In this Quantitative History Webinar, Valerie Hansen will take us back to the year 1000 and discuss how globalization began. For the first time in world history an object or a message could travel all the way around the world. Europeans did not invent globalization. They changed and augmented what had been there since 1000. If globalization had not yet begun in the Americas, Asia, and Africa, Europeans would not have been able to penetrate the markets in so many places as quickly as they did after 1492.

*By registering to this webinar, you agree to receive free Quantitative History related materials, including event notices. You can also update your preferences at any time. Existing subscribers newsletter preferences will not be affected.

Feb 25, 2021 08:30 PM in Hong Kong SAR

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Quantitative History Webinar Series.